About Us


Muming Pu

Professor Pu, Member of Chinese Academy of Science, U.S. National Academy of Sciences and Academia Sinica. Since 1999, he has served as the founding Director of the Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Head of the Laboratory of Neural Plasticity.

Prof. Pu’s Research Interests focus on cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying axon guidance, synaptogenesis and synaptic plasticity.



Yigong Shi

Professor Shi, Cheung Kong Scholar, NSFC Outstanding Young Scientist, President of Westlake University. Member of Chinese Academy of Science, Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Sciences, Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and a Foreign Associate of the European Molecular Biology Organization.

Prof. Shi's research has provided important insights into programmed cell death and regulated intramembrane proteolysis. His pioneering research on caspase activation, inhibition, and derepression markedly advanced mechanistic understanding of programmed cell death.


Dinshaw J. Patel

Professor Patel, working for American Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC), is the academician of both U.S. National Academy of Sciences and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Prof. Patel is adistinguished scholar in this field of structural biology.



James H Naismith

Professor Naismith was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) in 2014. Then he was also fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB), the Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE), the Academy of Medical Sciences (FMedSci) and an elected member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). His research mainly focus on the chemical structure of Concanavalin A and Zinc aldolase.



Professor Chen, Member of U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute, George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science, Professor of Department of Molecular Biology. He has worked on the research of Innate Immunity, mitochondrial antiviral signaling protein (MAVS), NF-kappaB Signaling, RIG-I Signaling, and Ubiquitin-Proteasome Pathway.


Arnold Driessen

Professor Driessen, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Holland, Professor in Molecular Microbiology at the University of Groningen. His interests are mechanisms of (macro-) molecule transport across biological membranes with a special emphasis on protein, drug and antibiotic secretion.



Hao Wu

Professor Wu, Member of  U.S. National Academy of Sciences. Wu’s laboratory of structural immunology focuses on elucidating the molecular mechanism of signal transduction by immune receptors, especially innate immune receptors.



Yang shi

Professor Shi, Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, tenured Professor of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School,  research for the area of gene expression regulation and chromatin modification biology.




Xiaodong Wang

Professor Wang, Member of U.S. National Academy of Sciences,Director and Investigator of National Institute of Biological Sciences ,Beijing, China. Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Distinguished Chair Professor in Biomedical Science of University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. The goal of his research laboratory is to understand cell death at molecular level.